And the Winners are.....

Friday night was the WCS 2016 Song Competition Grand Final.  The finalist from each song-competition location performed their winning song to an enthusiastic audience of fellow songwriters, friends, judges and family.  The eight finalists (Clark Abbott from the San Rafael location was unable to attend) showcased two well-constructed and original songs.  It was a fantastic evening of incredible talent. 

The esteemed judges included Andre Pessis, a revered songwriter of 16 Grammy winning songs and fellow WCS Board Member;  Jim Bruno, a singer/songwriter with numerous songs recorded and Foothill College songwriting instructor and WCS Board President Mark LeMon, a well established producer, songwriter and performer.

Winning the Songwriter of the Year award is a great feat.  There are so many talented artists and competition was especially tough this year. Not only can the winners boast about their winning songs, but they will have the honor of performing at the 36th Annual WCS Music Conference.  On Saturday evening (Sept 24) the three top songwriters will be featured at the sunset concert.  This is one of the highlights of the conference. Attendees, volunteers, family, friends and our illustrious industry guests will be in the audience.  After a full day of classes, seminars, workshops, one-on-one meetings, lyric review and song screenings (check out the program!) everyone relaxes for an evening of stellar music and networking.  Performing in this relaxed setting amongst new and established friends makes for a great evening.  This is also a great opportunity for the musicians to be heard by the industry guests who are always looking for new songs and artists. It is a rare opportunity for musicians to perform in a room full of guests seeking new talent.  If you're wanting to get your songs heard, network with industry leaders and get honest and supportive feedback come join the conference

Without further adieu,  here are the competing songs videoed live at the event:

Grand Final Winner

Nell Maynard    "The Salt and the Pepper"
(Palo Alto Songwriter of the Year)



Grand Final Winner

Mike Norris -  "Remembrance Day" 
(Petaluma Songwriter of the Year)


Grand Final Winner

Michaelryan Texas McCauley "Home"
(Redwood City Songwriter of the Year))

Honorable Mention

Sophie Todd - "Hurricane"
(San Francisco Songwriter of the Year)

Joe Landry  "Evermore"
(Sacramento Songwriter of the Year)

DW Jones "Old 99
(Stockton Songwriter of the Year)

Tom Rhodes "Rye and Wrong" 
(Berkeley Songwriter of the Year)

Carl Solomon - "Those Two Crows"  
(Portland Songwriter of the Year)

Grand Finalists (Left to Right)
Ian Crombie - Executive Director; DW Jones; Mike Norris; Joe Landry; Sophie Todd; Tom Rhode; Nell Maynard; Michael MacCauley Texas; Carl Solomon

Grand Finalists with Location Managers.

Grand Finalists with Judges - Mark LeMon, Andre Pessis and Jim Bruno